Dr. Champ Eps 1-2

I’m a BIG fan of medical dramas… and when i say BIG, i mean HUGE!

House and Greys Anatomy remains to be my most favorite US serials to date and i’ve always been fascinated by the cases that are presented in the said series interspersed with real life human dramas and dilemmas…

However, i can’t say the same for the Kdrama landscape…

It’s always been a miss for me in terms of this genre when it comes to its Korean counterparts and somehow most of the Kdramas that i was able to start which has this premise somehow falls flat and gives me a feeling that they are trying hard to be copycats of the pioneers like those i’ve mentioned above…


So imagine my surprise when i decided to try out this series today and was pleasantly amazed at how much i liked the start of this story…

Kim So Yeon, I really tip my hat off to you… You sure do know how to choose your projects well… I was under your spell when you played Ma Hye Ri in Prosecutor Princess and you did it again this time around as Yeon Woo in Dr. Champ…

You have gripped me with how you have left no traces of your old ditzy character from PP coming on to this drama and i am astounded as to how you are able to show a new side again to yourself to your audience in this role that you’ve taken on..

For that, you earn my lifelong admiration…

The start of Dr. Champ was fast paced… The conflicts arose early on in the series and it was really gripping…

But more than that, i guess what i liked most was the palpable chemistry between the two leads that is evident already from the first moment that they crossed paths in this series and the fact that even if Yeon Woo was an accomplished, intelligent doctor, she still experienced heartbreak and disappointment from people that she had put her trust on and for that you can’t help but cheer for her …


Once again… Mr. Yeoboseyo… Jo Min Ki… even if you only played a cameo in this series, you have really proven your worth as a villain amongst villains… You only showed up for a few minutes but oh, how you made me hate you so…

Dr. Champ may deal with Olympic sports and the medical field but it does not lack in heart… I guess that is the reason that makes it a cut above the rest of other medical dramas that Korea has done in the past…

I like the fact that the premise is not a hindrance to tackling real human dilemmas like love, family and ambition but rather it enriches and adds to the development of the story…

I love how both the lead stars of the show are striving to achieve their dream and it is inspiring to see the hard work they put in towards achieving that goal…

So far, i’ve really liked the first two episodes of this series… With the arrival of Uhm Tae Woong to complete the triangle, i am expecting the story to be more intense as the drama goes along…

So, if you’re looking for a more matured vehicle after the fluff of MGIAG and PK… Why not try Dr. Champ because it really seems like a drama that is going to get better as the days pass by…

About donnapie

Kdrama fanatic, Kim Hyun Joong obsessed, MinSun shipper, closet writer
This entry was posted in Dr. Champ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dr. Champ Eps 1-2

  1. Kerstin says:

    I’m not that big of a fan of medical dramas, although I did watch the first two seasons of Dr. House and way back in the past Emergency room but I stopped it in between as I lost interest. So I really didn’t plan to start Doctor Champ and I’m not a fan of the lead actors/actresses either but somehow I watched the first episode on viikii and got hooked on this. I really love it so I’m happy that you like it too!!!

Leave a Reply

