Pasta Episodes 3-5

I have finally been able to make time to catch up on Pasta yesterday and I was able to watch 3 episodes of it straight and i’m glad i made time for it because it was yet another 3 hours well spent… 


The episodes were fun and engaging, the repartee cute and witty and the chemistry between Hyun Wook (LSG) and Yoo Kyung (GHJ) remains to be as hot as ever…

Pasta might seem a little low key and plain to some since it does not have the trappings of your typical Kdramas where there are hidden birth secrets, terminal illnesses and villains from hell but to me it is exactly these reasons that endear this series to me and i am glad that a lot more people are discovering its goodness…

Seriously though, after watching 3 episodes where the storyline seems to revolve around whether or not pickles should be served in the dining room along with the Pasta, i am starting to think that the series should have been renamed Pickles instead since it’s very much in the limelight… 

However, it is also such a discovery to learn that office politics does not only run in the corporate workplace but also in smaller work settings such as La Sfera’s kitchen and watching it in action is just like watching GMA scheme and deal her way into yet another 6 months in government office and in fairness, I was entertained…

President Seol, the sous chef and Hyun Wook’s power struggle seems to be overkill at times but i am just enjoying myself watching them one up each other to be on top of the food chain…

While President Seol and the sous chef use threat, brute force and seniority to get what they want… Hyun Wook uses his brains, dry wit and humor and if not only because of this I am loving him even more…

However, the main draw of the series of course is the backstory between Se Young (HL) and Hyun Wook plus that of San (Alex) and Yoo Kyung and the burgeoning attraction that is soooo obvious between Hyun Wook and Yoo Kyung that even through my computer screen I already feel the tension whenever they’re together…

I can’t believe how Se Young has betrayed Hyun Wook in the past…. She is ambitious and no doubt, she would step on anyone who blocks her road towards her dreams but I can say that if previously I thought It was pompous and chauvinistic of Hyun Wook not to allow any females in his kitchen, I now understand him sincerely…

Yoo Kyung made me cry in that scene where she was having the flashback after her  mother died and she ate that pasta alone in La Sfera making her vow that she would work in its kitchens no matter what happens… Gong Hyo Jin acted the part so understatedly that I can’t help but be moved to tears because it looked so realistic…

I love the fact how even if Yoo Kyung has poured her heart out to Hyun Wook already when they were having that talk in the drinking tent that he still remains cold and brusque towards her even if he is affected…

If this were any other typical kdrama, he would already be hugging her close to him but Pasta being untypical we see the softening of Hyun Wook towards her in not so obvious ways and not in the same moment…

I think Alex plays the role of a guy with a long standing secret admiration for Yoo Kyung very well… If Hyun Wook is all brusqueness and toughness, Alex is sunshine and candies and warm smiles… I love how he plays the role of a typical kdrama 2nd lead where he’s always ready to lend a helping hand to the second lead but I like how he’s not broody or sullen and that he seems to have a very optimistic mind set about things…

The F3 cooks are also getting cuter in my eyes as days pass by… if before I couldn’t even care less if they were on the frame or not… I find myself really being on the lookout for most of the scenes now when I know that they will appear…

But what I love the most about the series of course is the way the romance between Yoo Kyung and Hyun wook is being played out… Lots of sexual tension and undercurrent definitely and the build up is going on so deliciously that one can’t help but smile foolishly whenever a development happens between them like so…

And so…

And so…

(and yeah… they have so much chemistry that they even make me giddy when they bicker…)

The ending of episode 5 had me giggling because of Yoo Kyung’s cheekiness and Hyun Wook’s shocked expression over what happened… I just love it when the heroine makes the first move and for the first time, it is a relief to see Hyun Wook shut his trap and at a loss for something to say because of Yoo Kyung’s actions…

Love, love, love LSG in this scene… 

About donnapie

Kdrama fanatic, Kim Hyun Joong obsessed, MinSun shipper, closet writer
This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

